HomeMedicare Dispatch → The end to ICD-10 code flexibility: How are you handling it?

The end to ICD-10 code flexibility: How are you handling it? Print E-mail
Written by The Health Law Offices of Anthony C. Vitale   
Tuesday, 11 October 2016 18:09

It may be hard to believe, but ICD-10 recently celebrated its first birthday.

The change from ICD-9 to ICD-10 meant the addition of thousands of more very specific, and in some cases, very unusual diagnostic codes. Examples include: being pecked by a chicken, bitten by a cow and struck by a macaw. You can read more about that in this Medical Economics article.
The switch to ICD-10 also meant that the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) was expecting a lot of confusion. That's why providers were given a year grace period to get it right.
However, effective Oct. 1, that grace period came to an end. That means CMS no longer is accepting unspecified codes on Medicare fee-for-service claims. CMS review contractors will use coding specificity as the reason for an audit for a denial of a reviewed claim. And, the agency says it will "notify providers of coding issues they identify during review and of steps needed to correct those issues."

Read More>>

Last Updated on Tuesday, 11 October 2016 18:15

Website design, development, and hosting provided by